The ECF Board is the Foundation’s decision-making body and works closely with the management in overseeing how we work to achieve our goals. The Board decides on the Foundation’s finances and overall strategy, supervises its grants policy, and consults with the Advisory Council in defining ECF’s priorities.

The Board meets three times a year. It consists of a minimum of five and a maximum of twelve members, including a Treasurer, Chair and Deputy Chair. Both the Chair and the Deputy Chair act as the Foundation’s two Vice Presidents. The ECF President is an Extraordinary Member of the Board.

Members of the Board are broadly representative of the wider Europe and of the disciplines and fields of activity related to our goals.


Articles of Association of the European Cultural Foundation.

President - HRH Princess Laurentien of the Netherlands
President of ECF and Extraordinary Member of the Board

Chair - Görgün Taner (TR)
General Director of the Istanbul Foundation for Culture and Arts (IKSV), Turkey

Deputy Chair - Rien van Gendt (NL)
Member of the Board of Rockefeller Philanthropy Advisors, New York

Treasurer - Rob Defares (NL) 
Chief Executive Officer, IMC International Marketmakers Combination, The Netherlands


Isabel Alçada (PT), Writer, Counselor to the Presidentof the Republic, former Minister of Education, Portugal

Mária Hlavajová (SK), Artistic Director, BAK, Basis voor actuele kunst, Utrecht, The Netherlands

Nike Jonah (UK), Creative Producer, United Kingdom

Joachim Rogall (DE), Chief Executive Officer, Robert Bosch Stiftung, Germany

Mats Rolén (SE), Associate Professor, Former Research Director, Stiftelsen Riksbankens Jubileumsfond, Sweden

Christophe de Voogd (F), Reader and researcher, Institute of Political Studies, France

Igno van Waesberghe (NL), Advisor representing Prins Bernhard Cultuurfonds, The Netherlands

External Advisers

ECF has a secondary tier of advisers working closely with the Foundation in deciding on grants, programmes and other awards. 

Jury for ECF Princess Margriet Award for Culture

The Princess Margriet Award for Culture honours former ECF President, HRH Princess Margriet of the Netherlands, and was initiated by ECF in cooperation with the Dutch Ministry of Education, Culture and Science and the Dutch Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

The five members of the 2017 Jury are:

  • Andreas Broeckmann (Curator, Leuphana Arts Program, Lüneburg/Berlin)
  • Juan Freire (Founding Partner, Teamlabs and mmodulUS, Madrid)
  • Ivan Krastev (Chairman of the Centre for Liberal Strategies, Sofia)
  • Ruth Mackenzie (Artistic Leader Holland Festival, Amsterdam)
  • Saskia van Stein (Director of Bureau Europa, platform for architecture & design, Maastricht)

Connected Action for the Commons

Connected Action for the Commons is a three year action research programme  (2014-2016) led by ECF in collaboration with six partner hubs, working together as a network: Culture 2 Commons  - Alliance Operation City, Clubture Network, Right to the City - (Croatia), Les Tetes de l’Art (France), Krytyka Politczyna (Poland), Oberliht (Moldova), Platoniq - Goteo (Spain), and Subtopia (Sweden). Our partnership with the hubs is driven by activities in the areas of the Commons, Public Space, Culture and Economy.

The advisors to the Connected Action for the Commons programme help us to select idea makers to attend the Idea Camp, select recipients of our R&D grants, and give expert input on the development of the programme.

In 2015 the advisors are:

  • Rana Zincir Celal, (CY), Programme Manager of Columbia Global Centers, Turkey
  • Juan Freire, (ES) Biologist, entrepreneur and professor, Spain
  • Rene Kubasek, (CZ) Consultant to various NGO’s, former Director, Czech Centre Bucharest, Romania.