The ECF office in Amsterdam brings together 12 different nationalities, working as a dedicated team on realizing ECF's mission and vision. Our supervisory board helps and guides us in achieving our goals.



Strategic Team

Katherine Watson
(CA/FI) Director

Additional roles, see Declaration of Responsabilities (p. 6)

Enrica Flores d'Arcais
(DE/IT) Head of Business Development and Communications

Isabelle Schwarz
(DE/FR) Head of Advocacy, R&D and Knowledge Management


Programmes - Grants - Advocacy - Knowledge Management


Maite García Lechner
(ES/NL) Programme Manager, Grants & Connected Action for the Commons

Vivian Paulissen
(NL) Knowledge Manager, Doc Next NetworkConnected Action for the Commons

Philipp Dietachmair
(AT) Programme Manager, Tandem Cultural Managers Exchange, Research & Development


Nicola Mullenger
(GB) Grants Coordinator 


Szilvia Kochanowski
(HU) Programme Officer, Connected Action for the Commons

Alicja Paszek
(DE/PL) Grants Manager

empty staff.jpeg

Olga Alexeeva
(NL/RU) Output Coordinator, Connected Action for the Commons

Lore Gablier
(FR) Programme Officer, Connected Action for the Commons

  Menno Weijs   (NL) Portfolio Holder

Menno Weijs
(NL) Project Manager, Doc Next NetworkConnected Action for the Commons

empty staff.jpeg

Jenneken Aarssen
Project Manager Tandem 


Marjolein Cremer
(NL) Senior Advocacy Officer

empty staff.jpeg

Tsveta Andreeva
(BG) Senior R&D Officer

Helena Rytilahti
(FI) Grants Coordinator

Communications & ECF Labs


Lise Mathol  
(NL) Senior Communications Officer

Susanne Mors
(DE) Senior Communications Officer

empty staff.jpeg

Maria Virto Marcilla
(ES) Funding and Partnerships Manager

Malka Jonas
(DE) Project Officer Communications

Friso Wiersum
(NL) Project Officer Communications

Marjo Borsboom
(NL) Communications Assistant


Gianfranco Pooli
(IT) Programme Manager, ECF Labs


Gunilla Redelius
(SE) Online Community Management, ECF Labs

Finance, HR, Administration


Kati Visser-Telegdi
(NL/HU) Executive Secretary

ECF Staff 27.jpg

Barbara van Santen
(NL) Office Manager

Hans Peter Christen
(NL) Manager Finance


Jan Baas
(NL) Facility Manager


Pim Heijselaar
(NL) Assistant Controller 

Esther Claassen
(NL) Administrator


Gillian Wijnhoven
(GB) Manager HR & Facilities

Aleid Verkruisen
(NL) Administrative Assistant

Supervisory Board

The ECF Board is the Foundation’s decision-making body and works closely with the management in overseeing how we work to achieve our goals. The Board decides on the Foundation’s finances and overall strategy, supervises its grants policy, and consults with the Advisory Council in defining ECF’s priorities.

The Board meets three times a year. It consists of a minimum of five and a maximum of twelve members, including a Treasurer, Chair and Deputy Chair. Both the Chair and the Deputy Chair act as the Foundation’s two Vice Presidents. The ECF President is an Extraordinary Member of the Board.

Members of the Board are broadly representative of the wider Europe and of the disciplines and fields of activity related to our goals.

Articles of Association of the European Cultural Foundation.

President - HRH Princess Laurentien of the Netherlands
President of ECF and Extraordinary Member of the Board

Chair - Görgün Taner (TR)
General Director of the Istanbul Foundation for Culture and Arts (IKSV), Turkey

Deputy Chair - Rien van Gendt (NL)
Member of the Board of Rockefeller Philanthropy Advisors, New York

Treasurer - Rob Defares (NL) 
Chief Executive Officer, IMC International Marketmakers Combination, The Netherlands


Isabel Alçada (PT), Writer, Counselor to the Presidentof the Republic, former Minister of Education, Portugal

Mária Hlavajová (SK), Artistic Director, BAK, Basis voor actuele kunst, Utrecht, The Netherlands

Nike Jonah (UK), Creative Producer, United Kingdom

Joachim Rogall (DE), President & CEO, Robert Bosch Stiftung, Germany

Mats Rolén (SE), Associate Professor, Former Research Director, Stiftelsen Riksbankens Jubileumsfond, Sweden

Christophe de Voogd (F), Reader and researcher, Institute of Political Studies, France

Igno van Waesberghe (NL), Advisor representing Prins Bernhard Cultuurfonds, The Netherlands