The ECF Princess Margriet Award for Culture is a platform for showing those whose creative work can truly make a difference to Europe’s varied societies, underlining ECF’s belief that social and political change requires artistic and cultural engagement.

Watch the highlights of the Ceremony. Video by Thomas Sykora. Photo by Xander Remkes

On 15 March 2016, the ECF Princess Margriet Award for Culture was awarded to theatre-makers and community developers Krétakör (Budapest, Hungary) and citizen laboratory for digital culture Medialab-Prado (Madrid, Spain) during a ceremony that took place at the Stadsschouwburg in Amsterdam.

Selection Process

For the 2016 edition, ECF has invited a group of 30 nominators to make proposals following the 2016 award guidelines.

This network of nominators are experts in different regions, disciplines and areas of cultural practice, including people from ECF’s network as well as new contacts beyond ECF’s own spheres. Each nominator is invited to make one proposal. ECF staff then researches and assembles portfolios of the nominees which are sent to the Jury in advance of the Jury meeting in October 2015.

2016 Award Jury

An international, interdisciplinary Jury , chaired by ECF Director Katherine Watson, gathered together in October 2015 to assess the nominations and select the two Laureates of the 2016 ECF Princess Margriet Award for Culture.

The members of the 2016 Jury are: Andreas Broeckmann (Curator, Leuphana Arts Program, Lüneburg/Berlin), Bojana Cvejić (Performance theorist and maker, Brussels/Belgrade), Chris Dercon (Director, Tate Modern, London), Juan Freire (Founding Partner, Teamlabs and mmodulUS, Madrid), Saskia van Stein (Director of Bureau Europa, platform for architecture & design, Maastricht).

History of the Award

The award was initiated by ECF in 2008 in honour of the organisation’s former President, HRH Princess Margriet of the Netherlands, who has shown enormous dedication to the important role of culture in invigorating democracy in Europe. The Award was established in partnership with the Dutch Ministry of Education, Culture and Science and the Dutch Ministry of Foreign Affairs. It includes a sum of 25.000 Euros for each laureate (totalling 50,000 Euros).


We host a growing archive specifically dedicated to the ECF Princess Margriet Awards for Culture in our Library, including yearly publications, interviews with past laureates, speeches, videos, audio recordings, press releases and media coverage.  

All the Awards

Krétakör | Medialab-Prado

Athens Biennale | Visual Culture Research Center

Teodor Celakoski | Teatro Valle Occupato  

Yoel Gamzou | Lia & Dan Perjovschi

Charles Esche | John Akomfrah

Kutluğ Ataman | Šejla Kamerić

Borka Pavićević | Stefan Kaegi

Stuart Hall | Jerôme Bel & Pichet Klunchun

Download the Award's overview brochure.

Download the Award's overview brochure.

ECF is grateful for the longstanding partnership with the Prins Bernhard Cultuurfonds. As a result of this partnership ECF acknowledges the annual financial contribution – via the Cultuurfonds – from the BankGiro Loterij and the Lotto.