2015 ECF Princess Margriet Award for Culture nomination and jury

The 2015 ECF Princess Margriet Award Jury (f rom left to right, Chris Dercon, Rana Zincir Celal, Bojana Cvejic, Saskia van Stein, Christian Esch) © Nicola Mullenger

The 2015 ECF Princess Margriet Award Jury (from left to right, Chris Dercon, Rana Zincir Celal, Bojana Cvejic, Saskia van Stein, Christian Esch) © Nicola Mullenger

The Princess Margriet Award for Culture is European Cultural Foundation’s annual Award for cultural change-makers in Europe. For the next  edition – to be presented in spring 2015 -  a network of around 35 nominators across wider Europe were invited by ECF to make proposals. This network of nominators are experts in different regions, disciplines and areas of cultural practice, including people from ECF’s network as well as new contacts beyond ECF’s own spheres.

Each nominator made up to two proposals following the award guidelines. Once eligible proposals were received ECF staff put together a portfolio in close consultation with the nominators. The long list is presented to the international jury in advance of the jury meeting which is taking place in October 2014.

The nominators for the 2015 ECF Princess Margriet Award for Culture are:  

  • Alex Adriaansens Director, V2_, Rotterdam
  • Imre Azem Director, Ekumenopolis: City Without Limits, Istanbul
  • Michel Bauwens Founder of the P2P Foundation, Chang Mai
  • Merve Bedir PhD candidate, Delft University of Technology, Faculty of Architecture and partner Land+Civilization Compositions, Rotterdam
  • Daniela Berghahn Professor of Film Studies, University of London, London
  • Michał Bilewicz Associate Professor, Director of the Center of Research on Prejudice University of Warsaw, Warsaw
  • Rosi Braidotti University Professor & Director, Centre for the Humanities Utrecht University, Utrecht
  • Keti Chukhrov Art theorist and philosopher, Moscow
  • Birgitta Englin Director & senior advisor at Global Challenge, Stockholm
  • Maja & Reuben Fowkes Curators & co-founders, Translocal Institute for Contemporary Art, Budapest
  • Juan Freire Founding partner, Teamlabs and mmodulUS, Madrid
  • Pascal Gielen Ass. Prof. Sociology of Art & Cultural Politics, University of Groningen, Groningen
  • Jo Glanville Director, English PEN, London
  • Igor Kovačević, Architect & founding member of CCEA / MOBA, Prague
  • Pierre Korzilius Director, Institut Francais Düsseldorf & Cologne, Düsseldorf
  • Solvita Krese Director, The Latvian Centre for Contemporary Art LCCA , Riga
  • Andrea Lissoni Curator Film & International Art, Tate Modern, London / Curator Pirelli HangarBicocca, Milan, London/Milan
  • Sarita Malik Lecturer in Media, Sociology and Communications, Brunel University, London
  • Massimiliano Mollona Senior Lecturer, Department of Anthropology at Goldsmiths, University of London, London
  • Berno Odo Polzer Artistic director, MaerzMusik, Vienna
  • Andrea Phillips Professor of Fine Art and Director of PhD programmes in the Art Department at Goldsmiths, London
  • Beatrix Ruf Director, Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam
  • Bernd M. Scherer Director, Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin
  • Erzen Shkololli Artist/curator & director National Gallery of Kosovo, Prishtina
  • Socrates Stratis Architect, Urbanist, Assistant Professor at the Department of Architecture, University of Cyprus, Cyprus 
  • Sophia Tabatadze Artist and and Co-founder of GeoAir Tiblisi, Tiblisi/Berlin
  • Pelin Tan Sociologist & Art historian, Mardin
  • Minna Tarkka Director, m-cult, Centre for New Media Culture, Helsinki
  • Ece Temelkuran Journalist and author, Istanbul 
  • John Thackara Director, Doors of Perception, Ganges
  • Egid van Houtem Curator, Social Beta, Heerlen
  • Indira van’t Klooster Editor-in-chief, A10 new European architecture, Amsterdam
  • Matthias von Hartz Director, Foreign Affairs Berliner Festspiele, Berlin
  • Miljenka Buljevic/Teodor Celakoski/Tomislav Domes/Katarina Pavic on behalf of Culture2Commons Zagreb
  • Joanna Tokarz/ Agnieszka Wiśniewska on behalf of Krytyka Polityczna, Warsaw
  • María G. Perulero, Enric Senabre, Olivier Schulbaum on behalf of Platoniq Cultural Association, Barcelona

The jury have met in October 2014. The new 2015 ECF Princess Margriet Award for Culture laureates have been announced on 13 November 2014 and will receive their awards at an official ceremony in Brussels in spring 2015.

The 2015 Award jury are:

  • Bojana Cvejić, Dramaturg, Performance theorist and maker, Brussels
  • Chris Dercon, Director, Tate Modern, London
  • Christian Esch, Director NRW Kultursekretariat, Wuppertal
  • Rana Zincir Celal, Programme Manager, Columbia Global Centers Turkey and Executive Board Member, Anadolu Kültür, Istanbul
  • Saskia van Stein, Artistic Director, Bureau Europa, Maastricht