< back to the award overview

2019 ECF Princess Margriet Award for Culture

Theme: Democracy Needs Imagination

Europe today is rich and diverse, but also fragmented and disjointed. In a year that heralds EU elections and Brexit, our notion of a united and open Europe is more fragile now than ever before.

Our 2019 theme Democracy Needs Imagination emerged from our work protecting Europe’s inclusive and open democracies through new, creative methods. For us, democracy refers to much more than political and legislative systems and ballot boxes. It is “everyday” democracy that puts the active participation of all people in politics and community life, online and offline. This aspect of democracy is under great threat.

We want to reclaim the space for civil society that is under increased threat in a growing number of European countries. We provide a platform for daring cultural experiments; unexpected, complex but urgently needed; and constructive dialogue across differing points of view. The 2019 Award highlights cultural alternatives that bridge the gaps between existing democratic institutions and people, between people themselves, and across all kinds of borders. We celebrate the work of critically engaged cultural institutions and initiatives that consider democracy a shared responsibility for all of us rather than a system owned by a few.

Award Jury 2019

An independent, international and interdisciplinary Jury will convene in early 2019 to assess the nominations and select the two Laureates of the 2019 ECF Princess Margriet Award for Culture.

The 2019 ECF Princess Margriet Award for Culture Jury are:
Tessa Boerman (Filmmaker, Amsterdam)
Andreas Broeckmann (Curator, Leuphana Arts Programme,Lüneburg/Berlin)
Tímea Junghaus (Executive Director, European Roma Institute for Arts and Culture – ERIAC, Berlin)
Ruth Mackenzie (Artistic Director, Théâtre du Châtelet, Paris)
Engin Önder (Journalist, Founder of Institute of Creative Minds,Istanbul)